Note of the Inaugural Meeting of Kiltearn Community Council Monday 14th December 2015 In the Evanton Sports Hall, Evanton

Present :

Shelagh Dennett Cai Maclver John McHardy Hector Munro Anne Macdonald Michael MacLeod Ralph Mercer Leo Sharratt

In attendance

Cllr Carolyn Wilson (Chair) Cllr Maxine Smith Cllr Martin Rattray Helen Ross

Apologies

Cllr Mike Finlayson

1. Introduction

Cllr Carolyn Wilson welcomed everyone to the meeting and congratulated the newly elected Community Councillors on their election and thanked members of the previous Community Council for their work. Cllr Wilson then requested that a short discussion be held in private before the election of office bearers took place. Members of the public left the meeting.

This private discussion was requested in the light of tensions/complaints between candidates/community councillors which had resulted in some items in the press and a letter of complaint. The aim was to allow frank discussion with the aim of a fresh start for the new Community Council. During the discussion that followed attention was drawn to various parts of the Community Council scheme and code of conduct.

Members of the public were invited back in for the main meeting business to be held in public.

2 Election of Office bearers

2.1 Cllr Wilson called for nominations for the appointment of Chairperson. Hector Munro was nominated by John McHardy, the nomination being seconded by Cai Maclver. There being no other nominations Hector Munro was appointed as Chair.

2.2 Cllr Wilson called for nominations for the appointment of Vice Chairperson. Michael MacLeod was nominated by Hector Munro the nomination being seconded by John McHardy. There being no other nominations Michael MacLeod was appointed as Vice Chair.

2.3 Cllr Wilson called for nominations for the appointment of secretary. Shelagh Dennett nominated John McHardy. The nomination was seconded by Cai Maclver. There being no other nominations John McHardy was appointed as Secretary. 2.4 Cllr Wilson called for nominations for the appointment of treasurer. Ralph Mercer was nominated by Anne Macdonald and the nomination was seconded by Shelagh Dennett. Cai Maclver was nominated by John McHardy and the nomination was seconded by Hector Munro. As there were 2 valid nominations votes were cast by secret ballot. The results were: 5 votes for Cai Maclver; 3 votes for Ralph Mercer. As a result Cai Maclver was appointed as Treasurer.

It was agreed the next meeting should follow on immediately and the establishment meeting concluded.